Camp NaNoWriMo 2017!

This year marks my first year participating in Camp NaNoWriMo! I’ve attempted the regular NaNoWriMo the past two years, but haven’t met the goal of 50,000 words either time. For this April, I plan on adding at least 10,000 words to the novel I started in November, which I think is a reasonable goal. I wrote almost 18,000 words in November, so 28,000 is a lot better than where I started. If I meet my original goal early on in April, then I’ll add 5 to 10 thousand more words on my goal.

The biggest motivation I have to do the best I can this April is the fact that I want to finish my novel. I’ve had this idea for nearly four years and I just want to get it written down, even if I really hate certain parts.

For more motivation, I printed out the first ten pages of what I have so far, but I’m not allowed to touch them. Instead, I have to wait until I complete my novel. Then, I can go in and edit them. I already know of some of the stuff I want to cut out, but I won’t do it until I actually finish the novel.

Every week, if I feel as though I’ve written enough, I’ll print some more pages out and put them somewhere to wait. For some reason, I had such a huge motivation after printing the first ten pages, so I know I’ll keep writing this until I actually finish.

This April will be a huge help in getting me back into the swing of writing daily. Even though I’m working crew on a theatre production throughout April, I will find time every day to write at least a page, if not more. The great thing is that I’ve already written four pages today. Motivation is a wonderful thing.

Leave a comment