Words

Words are hard, as any writer knows. Sometimes, the one word we know we need just isn’t coming to us. Sometimes, sitting down to write is an impossible thing. Words don’t always jump out at us and flow through our hands onto the page. However, that doesn’t mean that we can’t still write.

The amount of times I’ve sat down to write and ended up writing something different than I was planning is astounding. My brain doesn’t always allow me to write what I’ve been wanting to write.

I have a story that I’ve been working on for four years. After getting around 100 pages in, I scrapped it and started from the beginning. It just wasn’t doing what I wanted it to do, so I had to completely restart it. Surprisingly enough, losing all of those pages didn’t bother me. I already know what I want the story to do, it’s just the process of writing it that’s difficult.

Now, I’m in a flash fiction class. I would love to see if I can take at least some of my story and transform it into a flash fiction, just to see what happens. I could even take the general concept and make it into a flash fiction, if I don’t decide on a specific spot instead. I honestly didn’t think I’d like flash fiction all that much, but I’ve found it to be pretty interesting and helpful. It’s definitely something I will use in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

