Is Too Much Writing Bad?

I’ve noticed that throughout the past few years, I’ve been doing more and more writing. I always did a lot of writing, but it was spread out and not very consistent. Thanks to college, I was doing more consistent writing because of my creative writing classes.

I think two years ago, I took a lot of writing classes to the point where I felt like I couldn’t do much of any writing for a while. Of course, that didn’t stop me, but it still crossed my mind.

Now, I’m not only taking three classes with a lot of writing, but am also doing an online writing job where I’m rewriting sometimes two articles a day on top of doing homework for my super stressful senior year. Not to mention, during most of my free time at school (of which there is little), I’m writing a story down by hand that I’ve had in my head for years.

Am I writing too much?

It’s funny that this came to my head tonight as I’m doing work for my online job and doing some homework. It’s even funnier that I decided to write it down here, just as an easier way to get my thoughts out.

In a way, I think it is too much. I feel like I can’t do anything besides write, which isn’t really what my main goal is in life. Whenever I think I have time to myself, I remember that I have ten pounds of stuff to write.

In another way, it’s far from being too much. The fact that I’m still doing it should tell you something.

I love writing. I’ve always loved writing, ever since I was super little and had an extremely active imagination. I love creating stories, which is part of the reason I’m also an actress. Stories are really what keeps me sane.

Maybe it’s not all that far-fetched to say that maybe writing so much is actually keeping me sane, in a very strange way. I just love coming up with ideas and figuring out something to do with them (that’s why I like creative writing so much).

I answered my own question a lot faster than I thought I would.

Even with the question answered, I still need to keep in mind that I can’t let writing take over my entire life. I need to do well in school in order to graduate with really good grades. I also need to keep my focus on my acting if I want to do anything with that in the future.

Writing will always be there, but the acting is something I really have to work for.

 

 

Leave a Reply

